Education Above All 10 Million Celebration Event

New York, 27 April 2018

Good evening, Ladies and Gentlemen,

I’m so pleased to see so many familiar faces in the audience and to welcome all of you here tonight for this very special occasion.

As most of you may know, we have been counting down to this moment for almost six years, since I set my sights on what - back then – seemed like an unrealistic – even unattainable – goal.

In 2012, I looked at the sixty million young children who were out of school and said we must act.

These children came from the most marginalized, most vulnerable communities in the world. Many, had been displaced, due to conflict; others were refugees, some were fleeing poverty or natural disasters. And none of them were in school.

I thought, what if we could gather partners from around the world and work together to provide a quality education for even 10 per cent of these out-of-school children?

Experts told me that educating six million children would be impossible. But, I refused to believe it. One advisor, told me to set a goal that was “more realistic.” I thought I heard him say, “optimistic,” so I set a target of 10 million!

Well, my friends, 10 million is a very, very large number, especially when we’re talking about 10 million individual boys and girls, each with their own life story, and their own special challenges.

Thanks to the efforts of our Educate A Child program - and our many global partners - I am proud to announce tonight, that we have reached our impossible, our unattainable, and our completely unrealistic objective: 10 million previously out of school children will now receive a quality education!  

I want to thank everyone, and all of you, who made this possible. And, I would like to share with you what I think this achievement means.

At Educate A Child, we believe that every child has the right to a quality education. We further believe that education is as necessary to human life as food, water or shelter. And we believe that education is the most powerful tool ever invented for unlocking human potential.

Now there are those who say, yes, education is important, but first we must pave these roads, or train these doctors or build these houses. I know there are competing priorities. But, I say give me 10 reasons why educating the world’s out of school children can wait, and I’ll give you 10 million reasons why it can’t.

Today, because of what we have accomplished together, 10 million children will have an opportunity to expand their intellectual horizons. One day, some of them might even make it to Columbia, or Stanford, or Harvard.

They will have a chance to acquire the kinds of skills that can lead to quality jobs. They will contribute to their communities. They will be able to support families, and they will pass along the benefits of their education to their own children. And, I believe, they will make the world a better place for all of us.

Ladies and Gentlemen,

I have seen the transformative power of education with my own eyes, in places like Bangladesh, Palestine, Turkey, Sudan, Brazil and Kenya. I have watched as schools were built from scratch, and abandoned buildings turned into classrooms. I have seen children mastering computer skills on refurbished laptops, and I have listened to lessons taught under the shade of a tree, and homework done by candlelight.

The desire to learn is one of the most powerful forces of human nature. And it is in every child. Helping children fulfill that innate desire is the responsibility of us all. Tonight, 10 million more children will have the opportunity to learn. One of them might become the next Oprah Winfrey, or even the next Stephen Hawking.

My friends, we did not achieve this remarkable goal by snapping our fingers or by just writing checks. We had to figure out a way to take a variety of models for local education delivery – based on partnerships and multi-sectoral solutions – and scale them up from the community level to programs of global size and scope.

We reached out to the private sector for unique expertise and much-needed resources.

We worked with government ministries, public agencies, development banks and community groups. We worked with NGOs, big and small. And we worked with great multi-national organizations like UNICEF – experts in child development.

Since this project began, Educate A Child has participated in 82 partnerships across

50 countries. Together, we have leveraged a $1.8 billion dollar investment – a third of it, I’m proud to say, from the government of Qatar. It has been a true global effort.

Along the way, we identified the most significant obstacles to education for the world’s marginalized and vulnerable children. Some of these obstacles were obvious – a lack of classrooms, teachers or textbooks. But some were uniquely challenging.

How do you make the journey to school safe for girls and boys, who need to cross flooded rivers, or walk through wild forests? Where do you put a classroom in a refugee camp? How do you gain the trust of neighborhood leaders – who are suspicious of outsiders? And how do you entice boys and girls to come back to a school that had been bombed?

To educate 10 million out of school children, we needed to learn all of these things, and so much more. Fortunately, we had help, especially from our partners, many of whom are with us tonight. Without your help, we could not have achieved our goal.

And there is one special partner I need to mention here, and that is the parents of these out of school children. Their determination to secure a quality education for their daughters and sons,

despite the obstacles and the hazards, has been moving and uplifting. In many cases, I would say that it was the key ingredient in our success.

Over the next five years, Educate A Child will work to expand our existing programs and implement new ones. We will take what we have learned and apply it to the new challenges we face. Going forward, our efforts will require more than money and good intentions.

We must remember, the world is not a safe place, yet. And the number of out of school children is growing. But, that should not discourage us from pursing our goals.

Educating these children will require a real commitment… from governments, from the private sector, and from the international community. It will take all of our courage, our strength, and our resilience.

Educate A Child and its partners have shown the way. Now it’s time for all of us to re-double our efforts to educate the world’s remaining out of school children.

Millions of children are still waiting and in desperate need of our help. Let’s work together to ensure a better future for all of them and for the world we share…Believe me, it is possible.

I can see my friends from EAC rolling their eyes and asking themselves “does she ever stop?” The answer is no. But, tonight, we take time to celebrate our achievements. And tomorrow, we act on our commitments.

Thank you.

احتفالية العشرة مليون لمؤسسة التعليم فوق الجميع

نيويورك, 27 أبريل 2018

السيدات والسادة، مساء الخير..

يسعدني أن أرى وجوها مألوفة عديدة بين الحاضرين، ويسرني الترحيب بكم جميعا هنا الليلة بهذه المناسبة الخاصة جدا.

لعل كثيرين منكم يعلمون أننا كنا ننتظر هذه الفعالية لحوالي ستة أعوام، منذ أن وضعت نصب عيني على هدف كان آنذاك يبدو أنه غير واقعي ولا يمكن حتى بلوغه.

عام 2012 تأملت في الأطفال غير الملتحقين بالمدارس الذين بلغ عددهم 60 مليون طفل، وقلت ينبغي أن نتحرك.

ينتمي هؤلاء الأطفال لأكثر مجتمعات العالم تهميشاً وضعفاً. نزح معظمهم بسبب الصراعات، ووجد آخرون منهم طريقهم نحو اللجوء، بينما هرب بعضهم من الفقر والكوارث الطبيعية، ولم يلتحق أي أحد منهم بالمدرسة.

عندها فكرت في امكانية حشد شركاء من أنحاء العالم والعمل سوية لتوفير التعليم لعشرة بالمائة على الأقل من هؤلاء الأطفال غير الملتحقين بالمدارس. قال لي الخبراء سيكون تعليم ستة ملايين طفل أمراً مستحيلاً. ولمّا لم أتقبل ذلك، أشار عليّ لي أحد المستشارين بأن أختار هدفا "أكثر واقعية". وأخالني سمعته قال "متفائلة"، لذا وضعت نصب عيني هدف 10 ملايين طفل.

أدرك يا أصدقائي أن 10 ملايين طفل رقم كبير للغاية، خاصة وأننا نتحدث عن 10 ملايين شخص فتياتٍ وفتيانا، لكل منهم قصة حياته الخاصة، وتحدياته الشخصية. لذا نحن هنا هذا المساء لنحتفل بشيءٍ جدِّ مميز.

شكرا لجهود برنامجنا "علِّم طفلاً"، والشكر موصول لمختلف شركائنا الدوليين. إنه لمن دواعي فخري أن أعلن هذه الليلة بأننا قد بلغنا غايتنا المستحيلة وغير القابلة للتحقيق وغير الواقعية البتَّة: 10 ملايين طفل من الأطفال غير الملحقين بالمدارس سيحصلون الآن على التعليم النوعي. وأعرب عن شكري لكم جميعا، ولكل من أسهم في تحقيق هذه الغاية.

وأود أن أبادلكم ما يعنيه هذا الإنجاز بالنسبة إليَّ. نحن في برنامج علم طفلا نؤمن بحق كل طفل في الحصول على تعليم نوعي، وأن التعليم ضروري لحياة الإنسان كضرورة الغذاء والماء والمسكن. ونؤمن أيضا بأن التعليم هو الأداة الأكثر قوة التي تم ابتكارها لإطلاق قدرات الإنسان.

هناك من يقول بأن التعليم هام، لكن ينبغي أولا تعبيد الطرق وتدريب الأطباء وبناء البيوت. أنا أدرك أن هناك تنافساً في الأولويات، لكنني أقول: إذا قدمتم لي عشرة أسباب تدعو إلى تأجيل تعليم الأطفال غير الملتحقين بالمدارس في العالم، فسأعطيكم 10 ملايين سبب بأنه لا يحتمل التأخير.

اليوم، ونتيجة لما حققناه معاً، سيحظى 10 ملايين طفل بفرصة توسيع آفاقهم الفكرية. ويوما ما قد يلتحق بعضهم بجامعة كولومبيا أو ستانفورد أو هارفارد. سيحظون بفرص اكتساب مهارات توفر لهم وظائف نوعية، وبذلك سيسهمون في مجتمعاتهم، وسيكون بمقدورهم إعانة عائلاتهم، وسينقلون منافع تعليمهم إلى أبنائهم. وأنا مؤمنة بأنهم سيجعلون العالم مكانا أفضل لنا جميعا.

السيدات والسادة،

لقد رأيت بأمِّ عيني القوة التحويلية للتعليم في أماكن مثل بنغلاديش وفلسطين وتركيا والسودان والبرازيل وكينيا. رأيت كيف بُنيت المدارس من لا شيء، وكيف استحالت بنايات مهجورة إلى فصول دراسية. ورأيت كيف يُجيد الأطفال مهارات الحاسب الآلي وهم يستخدمون حواسيب معادٌ تشغيلها. لقد استمعت إلى دروس لُقِّنت تحت ظل شجرة، وواجبات دراسية حُلَّت تحت ضوء شمعة.

 فالرغبة في التعلم هي أحد القوى الجبارة في طبيعة الإنسان، وهي سمة في كل طفل. وتتمثل مسؤوليتنا جميعا في مساعدة الأطفال على تحقيق رغبتهم الغريزية هذه.الليلة، سيحظى أكثر من 10 ملايين طفل بفرصة التعلم. وقد يصبح أحدهم بحجم أوبرا وينفري في المستقبل، أو ستيفن هوكينغ.

أصدقائي، لم نحقق هذا الإنجاز بطقطقة أصابعنا أو بتحرير الشيكات؛ فقد كان علينا إيجاد وسيلة لاعتماد نماذج متنوعة تلائم التعليم المحلي، بناءً على شراكات وحلول متعددة القطاعات، لنقوم بعد ذلك بتوسيع نطاقها من المستوى المجتمعي إلى برامج عالمية الحجم والنطاق.

وصلنا إلى القطاع الخاص بهدف الاستفادة من خبرة فريدة من نوعها، وموارد كنا نحتاجها. لقد عملنا مع وزارات حكومية وهيئات عامة وبنوك تنموية وجماعات مجتمعية، فضلا عن منظمات غير حكومية كبرى وأخرى صغيرة. كما عملنا مع منظمات مرموقة متعددة القوميات كمنظمة اليونيسيف، وخبراء متخصصين في تنمية الأطفال.

 ومنذ انطلاق المشروع شارك برنامج علِّم طفلاً في 82 شراكة في 50 بلداً. وضخينا معا استثمارا قدره 1,8 مليار دولار أمريكي، وأنا فخورة بالقول إن ثلثه أتى من دولة قطر. لقد كان ذلك بالفعل جهد دولي حقيقي.

وعبر مسيرتنا، حددنا أهم العقبات التي تحول دون تعليم أطفال العالم المهمشين والمستضعفين. وكان بعض تلك العقبات بادية للعيان مثل قلّة الفصول الدراسية والأساتذة والكتب، بينما شكلت أخرى تحديا فريدا من نوعه.

 كيف يمكن أن نجعل الرحلة إلى المدرسة آمنةً للفتيات والفتيان ممن كان عليهم أن يجتازوا أنهارا غزيرة المياه، أو يقطعون مشيا غابات برية؟ أين يمكنك وضع فصل دراسي في مخيمٍ للاجئين؟ وكيف تكسب ثقة زعماء المنطقة الذين يرتابون من الغرباء؟ وكيف تَحُثُّ الفتيان والفتيات على القدوم إلى مدرسةٍ قُصفت بالقنابل؟

لقد كان علينا أن نتعلم كل هذه الأمور وغيرها الكثير، في سبيل تعليم 10 ملايين طفل من غير الملتحقين بالمدارس. ومن حسن حظنا أننا تلقينا المساعدة، خصوصا من شركائنا الذين يتواجد كثيرٌ منهم معنا هنا الليلة. ولولا مساعدتكم ما تمكنَّا من تحقيق هدفنا.

أود في هذا المقام أن أذكر شريكا من نوع خاص وهم آباء هؤلاء الأطفال غير الملتحقين بالمدارس، فقد كان عزمهم لضمان تعليم نوعي لبناتهم وأولادهم رغم العراقيل والأخطار، محركا ورافعا لمعنوياتنا، وكان في ظروف شتى عنصرا رئيسيا في عملية نجاحنا.

سيعمل برنامج علِّم طفلاً خلال الأعوام الخمسة القادمة على توسيع برامجنا إلى جانب تنفيذ برامج أخرى جديدة. سنستفيد مما تعلمناه ونستخدمه في التصدي لما قد نواجهه من تحديات جديدة. وللمضي إلى الأمام ستتطلب جهودنا أشياء أخرى غير الأموال والنوايا الحسنة.

إذ علينا أن نتذكر أن العالم بات مكانا غير آمن، وعدد الأطفال غير الملتحقين بالمدارس آخذ في الارتفاع؛ ولكن ينبغي أن لا يمنعنا ذلك من مواصلة تحقيق أهدافنا.

سيتطلب تعليم هؤلاء الأطفال التزاما حقيقيا من الحكومات والقطاع الخاص والمجتمع الدولي، وسيحتاج إلى كل ما لدينا من شجاعة وقوة ومرونة.

فقد مهّد برنامج علم طفلا وشركاؤه الطريق، وحان الوقت أمامنا جميعا لمضاعفة جهودنا وتعليم ما تبقى من أطفال العالم غير الملتحقين بالمدارس. فما زال ملايين هؤلاء الأطفال في أمس الحاجة بانتظار مساعدتنا.

دعونا نعمل معا لضمان مستقبل أفضل لهم جميعا، وللعالم الذي يجمعنا، صدقوني ذلك أمر ممكن.

فكأني أرى عيون أصدقائي في برنامج علم طفلا وهم يتساءلون "ألن تتوقف هذه المرأة أبدا؟" جوابي هو كلاَّ.

الليلة نحتفل بإنجازاتنا، وغداً نعمل على الوفاء بالتزاماتنا.

شكرا لكم.