Healthcare

CPO Content Area

A healthy population is essential to a strong, prosperous society, and Sheikha Moza has been at the forefront of comprehensive reforms to provide all Qataris with access to world-class healthcare.

As Chair of Qatar Foundation for Education, Science and Community Development (QF) and Chair of Sidra Medicine, Sheikha Moza is contributing to work that will establish Qatar as a centre for biomedical research and an incubator for medical breakthroughs.

In her former role as Vice Chair of the Supreme Council of Health 2009-2014, Sheikha Moza supported a restructuring of Qatar’s healthcare system so that every Qatari has access to quality medical care that is efficient, flexible and patient focused. In 2010, the council released the National Healthcare Strategy that laid out long-term goals for healthcare in Qatar. Among them are an emphasis on preventive care, addressing the special needs of women and children, integrating primary and specialist care, and ensuring treatments are both effective and affordable.

As part of this new vision for healthcare, Sheikha Moza launched the National Cancer Strategy in 2010. This $600 million initiative established a new cancer hospital that will feature the best in cancer care and research. The strategy also includes new programmes for cancer prevention and early detection.

To address one of Qatar’s growing health problems, Qatar Foundation administers the Qatar Diabetes Association. This nonprofit organisation helps those living with diabetes through educational and awareness programs that encourage exercise and healthy eating, while also working on preventing the disease.

It was also through the vision of Her Highness that the World Innovation Summit for Health (WISH) was created. She aspired to create a forum that dealt with communicating innovative solutions to solve international health challenges. At the Launch of the program in 2013, Sheikha Moza announced the Qatar Genome Project. By 2016 the project had sequenced the genomes of 3000 Qataris using Qatar Biobank's collection of samples and data, taking the nation a step closer to achieving Her Highness's vision of "personalised medicine."

Set up through a partnership between Qatar Foundation and Imperial College London, Qatar Biobank for Medical Research is —for the very first time— collecting and storing genetic data on Qatari and Southeast Asian populations. These DNA samples will be crucial Qatar Foundation-sponsored research on diseases common to Gulf populations such as diabetes and heart disease. These ambitious pursuits will benefit not only Qatari nationals, but also the entire Gulf by making Qatar a regional centre for excellence in healthcare.

In another joint venture with Imperial College London, Qatar Foundation established the Qatar Robotics Surgery Centre, which is pioneering new minimally invasive surgical methods using the latest in medical robot technology.

These and many other research projects underway complement one of the world’s most ambitious medical research initiatives. Perhaps the most crucial component of the plan to put Qatar on the cutting edge of medical research and patient care is Sidra Medicine.

Funded with a Qatar Foundation endowment of $7.9 billion, Sidra, an academic medical center with a threefold mission —medical training, research and patient care—focuses on pediatric and women’s health issues. 

Sidra embodies two of Sheikha Moza’s commitments — protecting and nurturing women and children, and positioning Qatar to be a leader in scientific discovery

Furthermore, a new partnership between Hamad Medical Corporation, Weill Cornell Medical College in Qatar, Sidra and other local partners has been formed to establish an Academic Health System, the first of its kind in the region. This system will ensure that breakthroughs in research and medical advances will be translated into patient care and will benefit patients in the nation’s hospital rooms and doctors’ offices.

الرعاية الصحية

CPO Content Area

السكان الأصحاء هم الدعامة الضرورية لبناء مجتمع مزدهر وقوي، وصاحبة السمو الشيخة موزا كانت على الدوام في طليعة الإصلاحات الشاملة لتوفير الرعاية الصحية ذات المستوى العالمي لجميع القطريين.

لقد  ساهمت الشيخة موزا كرئيس مجلس إدارة مؤسسة قطر للتربية والعلوم وتنمية المجتمع ورئيس مجلس إدارة سدرة للطب في كل ما من شأنه وضع قطر كمركز للبحوث الطبية الحيوية وحاضنة للاكتشافات الطبية.

كما دعمت سموها من خلال دورها السابق نائباً لرئيس المجلس الأعلى للصحة (2009-2014) إعادة هيكلة نظام الرعاية الصحية في قطر بحيث أصبح بمقدور جميع القطريين الحصول على الرعاية الطبية ذات جودة عالية وفعالة ومرنة و تركز على المريض بالدرجة الأولى، حيث أصدر هذا المجلس عام 2010  الاستراتيجية الوطنية للرعاية الصحية التي حددت أهدافا طويلة الأجل للرعاية الصحية في قطر، بما في ذلك التركيز على الرعاية الوقائية، ومعالجة الاحتياجات الخاصة للنساء والأطفال، ودمج الرعاية الصحية الأولية والمتخصصة، وضمان العلاجات الفعالة بأسعار معقولة.

 ضمن هذه الرؤية الجديدة للرعاية الصحية أطلقت الشيخة موزا الاستراتيجية الوطنية لمكافحة السرطان عام 2010، وهي مبادرة بحوالي 600 مليون دولار،  التي أنشأت مستشفى السرطان الجديد ليوفر أفضل رعاية لمرضى السرطان وإجراء البحوث، كما تتضمن الاستراتيجية أيضا برامج جديدة للوقاية من السرطان والكشف المبكر.

وسعيا لمواجهة مسألة تنامي المشاكل الصحية في قطر، تقوم مؤسسة قطر بإدارة الجمعية القطرية للسكري، حيث تساعد هذه الجمعية غير الربحية المصابين بداء السكري من خلال برامج تثقيفية و توعوية تشجعهم على ممارسة الرياضة و تناول التغذية الصحية، كما تعمل على نشر التوعية للوقاية من الأمراض.

لقد كان لرؤية صاحبة السمو الفضل في إنشاء مؤتمر القمة العالمي للابتكار في الرعاية الصحية (ويش)، وطمحت دوماً  لإنشاء منتدىً يسعى لنشر الحلول المبتكرة لمواجهة التحديات الصحية الدولية. وبالتزامن مع إطلاق هذا المؤتمر عام 2013 أعلنت سموها عن مشروع جينوم قطر، الذي تمكن عام 2016 من فحص جينات ثلاثة آلاف قطري بهدف تطوير الرعاية الصحية عبر نهج متخصص في العلاج.

هذه المساعي الطموحة سيعم نفعها على المواطنين القطريين والخليج بأكمله من خلال جعل قطر مركزا إقليميا للتميز في مجال الرعاية الصحية، حيث عملت مؤسسة قطر  على سبيل المثال بالشراكة مع إمبيريال كوليدج في لندن على إنشاء البنك الحيوي الوطني قطر بيوبنك للبحوث الطبية الذي تتمثل مهمته الأولى في تخزين وجمع البيانات الوراثية للسكان القطريين وجنوب شرق آسيا، وستكون عينات الحمض النووي هذه  نواةً للبحوث التي ترعاها مؤسسة قطر في مجال الأمراض الشائعة التي يعاني منها السكان في الخليج مثل مرض السكري وأمراض القلب.

وفي مشروع مشترك آخر مع إمبيريال كوليدج في لندن  أنشأت مؤسسة قطر مركز قطر للجراحة بالروبوت، وهو مركز رائد في الأساليب الجراحية الجديدة باستخدام أحدث تكنولوجيا الروبوت الطبية.

هذه المشاريع البحثية وغيرها من المشاريع الجارية تعتبر استكمالاً لمبادرات البحوث الطبية الأكثر طموحا في العالم. ولعل العنصر الأكثر أهمية للخطة الهادفة لجعل قطر في طليعة البحوث الطبية ورعاية المرضى يتمثل في سدرة للطب.

ويعتبر سدرة للطب، الذي منحته مؤسسة قطر هبة قدرها 7.9 مليار دولار، مركزاً طبياً أكاديمياً له ثلاث مهام هي: التدريب الطبي والبحوث ورعاية المرضى، حيث سيولي أهمية خاصة للقضايا الصحية للأطفال والنساء. ويجسد التزامين من التزامات الشيخة موزا اللذين يتمثلان في حماية ورعاية النساء والأطفال، وجعل قطر دولةً رائدة في مجال الاكتشافات العلمية.

علاوة على ذلك، تم إقامة شراكة جديدة بين مؤسسة حمد الطبية و كلية طب وايل كورنيل في قطر و سدرة للطب وعدد من الشركاء المحليين الآخرين لإنشاء النظام الصحي الأكاديمي، وهو الأول من نوعه في المنطقة. سيضمن هذا النظام تطبيق الاكتشافات في البحوث الطبية ورعاية المرضى وسيمكنهم من الاستفادة من الأطباء والمستشفيات الوطنية.