Social Development

CPO Content Area

A civilisation is only as strong as its families, and Sheikha Moza seeks to ensure Qatar’s traditional values and community bonds are not diluted amid the nation’s rapid economic and material advancement.

As founder of Qatar’s Supreme Council for Family Affairs in 1998, Sheikha Moza had a central commitment to ensuring that family-related policies are enacted. Protecting vulnerable groups like women, children, the elderly and the disabled has been a priority for her. This has resulted in the council launching numerous initiatives and nonprofit organisations to address family issues.

Among these is the Qatar Social Work Foundation that Her Highness founded to govern and regulate the civil initiatives she launched throughout the years. These initiatives include Aman, a centre that provides social rehabilitation and reintegration assistance to victims of violence and unfair discrimination, and grants safe haven for abused women and children; Ehsan, a centre that provides care and empowerment services for elderly people; Nama, a centre that expands youth opportunities through career training programs and financing for promising entrepreneurs; and Dreama, the Qatar Orphan Foundation.

To assist children with disabilities, Sheikha Moza founded and chairs the Shafallah Centre for Children with Special Needs, a member of Qatar Social Work Foundation. The centre provides comprehensive services to children with disabilities including cutting-edge medical care, physical and psychological therapies, family counseling and education programs. Through occupational therapy, the centre helps those with special needs adapt and function in their daily lives. The centre also seeks to foster acceptance and understanding of those with disabilities.

And to build on Sheikha Moza’s work at the Supreme Council for Family Affairs, Qatar Foundation established the Doha International Family Institute, which researches and promotes pro-family public policies in Qatar and around the world, as well as the Qatar Nanny Training Academy, which provides training and academic support to Arabic-speaking nannies to teach and promote Islamic values at home.

التنمية الاجتماعية

CPO Content Area

تستمد الحضارة قوتها من قوة الأسر فيها. من هذا المنطلق تسعى الشيخة موزا إلى الحفاظ على القيم الأصيلة للتراث القطري وتعزيز الروابط الاجتماعية لكي لا تنجرف مع التقدم المادي والاقتصادي المتسارع الذي تشهده البلاد.

وباعتبار سموها مؤسساً للمجلس الأعلى لشؤون الأسرة عام 1998 فقد التزمت صاحبة السمو بضمان تفعيل السياسات الأسرية، وإعطاء الأولوية للفئات المستضعفة كالنساء والأطفال والمسنين، مما نتج عنه إطلاق المجلس لعدة مبادرات ومنظمات غير ربحية تُعنى بقضايا الأسرة.

وقد أسست صاحبة السمو المؤسسة القطرية للعمل الاجتماعي عام 2013 بهدف حوكمة وتنظيم المبادرات المدنية التي أطلقتها سموها عبر الأعوام. وتنضوي تحتها كل من مركز دريمة لرعاية الأيتام، مركز إحسان لتمكين ورعاية كبار السن، مركز أمان للتأهيل الإجتماعي وحماية الطفل والمرأة والذي يوفر الملجأ الآمن للنساء والأطفال الذين يتعرضون لسوء المعاملة و يعمل على رفع الوعي للحد من ظاهرة العنف الأسري، ومركز الإنماء الاجتماعي، الذي يوفر برامج تدريب مهني وتمويلاً للشباب الواعد من رجال الأعمال. كما يؤمن المركز الإعانات الغذائية والطبية والتعليمية للعائلات ذات الدخل المحدود.

ولدعم ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة أنشأت صاحبة السمو مركز الشفلح للأطفال ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة الذي ترأس مجلس إدارته، والذي يؤمن خدمات شاملة للأطفال ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة وتشمل الرعاية الطبية المتطورة، العلاجات الجسدية والنفسية، الاستشارة العائلية والبرامج التثقيفية. ومن خلال العلاج المهني، يقوم المركز بتدريب الأشخاص ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة، ويساعدهم على التأقلم مع الحياة اليومية ليصبحوا فاعلين فيها. ويسعى المركز كذلك إلى تعزيز القبول والتفهم المجتمعي لذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة وتسهيل اندماجهم فيه. 

استكمالاً لدور صاحبة السمو في المجلس الأعلى لشؤون الأسرة، أنشأت مؤسسة قطر معهد الدوحة الدولي للأسرة الذي يقوم بإجراء أبحاث عن السياسات العامة الداعمة للأسرة والترويج لها في قطر وحول العالم، كما أنشأت أكاديمية قطر لتدريب المربيات، لتقديم التدريب والدعم الأكاديمي للمربيات الناطقات باللغة العربية لتمكينهم من آليات تعليم وتطوير القيم الإسلامية في الدولة.